January has been proclaimed as School Board Recognition Month across the State of Texas by Governor Rick Perry.  "The people who make up these boards volunteer their time because they care about their communities and their schools.  Each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) designates January as School Board Recognition Month, to emphasize the importance of the services these dedicated men and women provide to the schools and students of Texas" said James B. Crow, TASB executive director.

Sweetwater ISD wishes to say thank you to our Board Members for stepping up to lead and for their willingness to serve.  Becky Jimenez, Nancy Johnson, Gail Lawrence, Ginny Mayes, Jeanie McPherson, Russ Petty, and Bryan Studdard were especially recognized at this months Board Meeting.