SISD Superintendent of Schools Terry Pittman presents teachers from Sweetwater Middle School their recogition for being a Higher Performing Campus. (For more presentation pictures - click on the title of this article or the link below)

The National Center for Educational Achievement (NCEA), a department of ACT, Inc., recognized Sweetwater Independent School District for having three schools in their district make the 2010 NCEA Higher Performing Schools List. The following schools received the honor and Higher Performing (HP) recognition in the following areas:

  • Southeast Elementary School, Math and Reading - Higher Performing in all Areas
  • Sweetwater Intermediate School, Math and Reading
  • Sweetwater Middle School, Social Studies

The Higher Performing Schools (formerly known as Just for the Kids Schools) are identified by two measures: consistent improvement in student achievement from previous years (growth) and/or absolute student achievement using the school's Commended Performance results on the spring 2010 TAKS (Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills) test. NCEA's higher performing methodology controls for school and student demographics to allow for an apples-to-apples comparison of school achievement and to demonstrate that with the commitment of educators, all schools can have success no matter the zip code. NCEA provided award certificates to each Higher Performing School and the district.

Sweetwater Middle School received the Higher Achieving School Award in the area of Social Studies. Pictured (l to r) are: Sherri Whittenburg, Principal Jeff Withrow, Irene Armstrong, Assistant Principal Danette Price, Sharon Gabler, Shaunna Cleckler and Skylar Houston.

Sweetwater Intermediate School was named a Higher Achieving School in Reading and Math. Pictured is SIS Principal Heather Moore, Jenna Hayes, Raye Gail Wallace, Crystal Meneses and Michelle McSherry.

Southeast Elementary was named a Higher Achieving School in all areas (Reading and Math are the only two areas their elementary school could qualify for) pictured are Southeast Principal Vicki Mayberry, Annette Denton, Leann Dowdy and Stacy Kilgore

J.P. Cowen Principal Kirk Stroman makes the monthly campus presentation to the SISD Board of Trustees.