Jennifer Withrow Named Southeast Star Staff of the Week

Mrs. Withrow was named this week's Southeast Elementary Star Staff of the Week. According to school principal Peggy Elliott, "Mrs. Withrow teaches Kindergarten and always has a smile to share which shows her love for kids and learning."

Withrow 021214.jpg

Kara Lehnert Wins Sweetwater Middle School Spelling Bee

Sweetwater Middle School held a Spelling Bee on Wednesday afternoon. Kara Lehnert won in the 19th round by spelling the word 'bric-a-brac'. Also competing in the Bee were Devin Guiterrez and Kaci Webb.  Miss Lehnert will advance to regional competition in Odessa.

Sweetwater High Students Dominate at District DECA

Sweetwater High DECA students competed in District competition at San Angelo on Thursday. Results from the  district meet are below. These students also qualified for State DECA competition in Dallas next month.

Hospitality Services:  First place Madison Jones and Caroline Brennan, Second place Jay Lomas and Daven Alverez

Business Law and Ethics: First place Mason Andrews and Quentin Wetsel, Second place Rachel Gray and Taylor McPherson

Sports and Entertainment Marketing: Second place Michael Hazard and James Cliff

Travel and Tourism: First place Kaleb Hoover and Johnathan Browning

Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan: First place Jeremy Witt and Ethan Wittenburg

Hotel and Lodging: Second place Abby McPherson

Apparel and Accessories: First place Casey Whoolery-Pratt

Principles of Hospitality and tourism: First place Lizzie Gray

Business Finance: First place Blake Cumbie

Professional Selling: First place Austin Marlett, Second Place Steven Le

Sweetwater High's Crysten Ivy Named to Texas All-State Band

Crysten Ivy, a member of the Sweetwater Mighty Mustang Band will perform with the Texas All-State Band in San Antonio, Saturday, February 15, 2014 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center as part of the 2014 Texas Music Educators Association Clinic/Convention. She was chosen for this honor through a competitive process held this year across the state at District, Region and Area levels. Crysten is a student of Dayna Coppedge and plays at school under the direction of Shane Faucett who is a member of the Texas Music Educators Association, an 11,000+ member organization headquartered in Austin. This is Crysten’s third time to perform as a member of a TMEA All-State organization. Crysten is the daughter of Sonya and Christopher Ivy.

High school students selected to perform in the All-State concerts have competed through several levels of auditions beginning in the fall of 2013 to arrive at the state level. All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. Over 1,500 students are selected through a process that began with over 60,000 students from around the state vying for this honor to perform in one of 14 ensembles (bands, orchestras and choirs). 

SHS 011714.JPG

Tina Melendez Honored With Arrow Ford's Teacher Tribute

SHS Spanish Teacher, Tina Melendez was honored today as Arrow Ford's Teacher Tribute Winner. She was nominated by Joe Alaniz, a sophomore at Sweetwater High School. Pictured in the picture below are Melendez, Alaniz, and Stacy Jones, Principal.

About the program:  The Arrow Dealerships were the driving force in the creation of the now renowned Teacher Tribute Program. With the help of its founding partners, the awards program first started in the 1997-98 school year, and has continued to grow and is celebrating its 15th Anniversary this year! The purpose of the Teacher Tribute Program is to give students of Abilene and the Big Country the opportunity to recognize and say, "THANK YOU!" to the teachers who have inspired and motivated them to do their best.

For more information about Arrow Ford's Teacher Tribute program, go to


SHS 011514.jpg
SHS 011614.JPG