Sweetwater FFA Wraps Up Very Successful Judging Season

The Sweetwater FFA wrapped up a successful judging year over the last few weeks. Members of the chapter were well traveled as the state contests are spread out over several different Universities.

The Cotton Classing team consisting of Leah Warren , Caroline Brennan, Larissa Locklar, and Stephen May earned 2nd at the State contest. Leah Warren was 10th high individual, Stephen May was 8th high individual, and Larissa Locklar was 5th high individual. Also, at the Texas Tech State Contest the Sweetwater FFA Agronomy team placed 13th, team members are Jeanne Chapman, Lauren Jones, and Alyssa Soles. The Floriculture team consisting of Morgan Browning, Cody Chapman, Ashton Hanna, and Ashley Parker placed 22nd at the state contest at Sam Houston State earning Sweetwater FFA's highest score posted in this event.

At Texas A&M state events the Meat judging team consisting of Cody Chapman, Jeanne Chapman, Kensi Chowning, and Kaitlyn Foster placed 18th, the Poultry team ranked 38th and team members are Leah Warren, Colton Scott, and Marc Butler. Finally, the first Vet Science team that Sweetwater FFA has ever filled competed well and earned 38th place at their state contest, members of this team are: Noah Nighswonger, Thea Weber, Tyler Woofter, and Kolleen Martin-Adams. Sweetwater Ag Teacher Cory Rains added, "Please congratulate all of these students on their accomplishments!"

Sweetwater High Students Elected as FFA Officers

Sweetwater FFA had several students attend the Lone Wolf district meeting and banquet on May 6th in Westbrook. Caroline Brennan (President) and Stephen May (Vice President) served as 2013-2014 district officers for the event.

Caroline Brennan was elected as the district representative for 2014-2015 Area II officer. Caroline will now run for Area President this Friday at the Area Convention. Alyssa Soles was elected as incoming Lone Wolf District President and Noah Nighswonger was elected as incoming secretary for the district. 

Sweetwater High Students Become 'Big Brothers' at SIS

The 'Big Brother' program at Sweetwater Intermediate School was made up of Austin Marlett, Kevin Thompson, Steven Le, and Mike Rosas of Sweetwater High School this year. According to Belinda Zarate, "These young men take time everyday to come have lunch with their 'little brothers' at SIS. Each forged relationships with these SIS students, modeled courtesy and respect, and served as a mentor for these young boys. Their leadership role at SIS is greatly valued and truly appreciated."

Mercer Named Sweetwater High Teacher of the Year

Sweetwater High School Principal Stacy Jones recently announced that Candy Mercer has been named the school's Teacher of the Year.

Shown to left is Jones presenting Mrs. Mercer her awards for receiving the prestigious honor. 

Middle School's Sara Guernsey Receives Funderwear Award

The last SISD Funderwear recipient, Paula Ordway, presented the award to Sara Guernsey at Sweetwater Middle School recently.

Mrs. Guernsey received three nominations from her co-workers.  One stated:  Mrs. Guernsey is an outstanding teacher who goes above and beyond on a daily basis to ensure her students' success, steps in and assists other teachers on campus when she sees a need that must be met, comes in early and stays late every day, and the list goes on and on.  She has taken on the challenges that technology presents and implements technology in her daily lessons in order to help her students be successful in every way possible.


Mr. Pittman has said, “Funderwear is given to staff members that have gone above and beyond, shown a great attitude, and exemplify the spirit we want to shine in SISD.”

Sweetwater High Students Compete on the National Level

After advancing through local, regional, and state events, Sweetwater High School students are headed to DECA national competition in Atlanta, Georgia. Pictured are Maddie Jones, Blake Cumbie, Michael Hazard, Caroline Brennan, Ethan Whittenburg, Jeremy Witt, Austin Marlett and their teacher, Nina Wilson.

Lindsay Freeman Named Southeast's STAR of the Week

Mrs. Lindsay Freeman was recently chosen as Southeast Elementary's STAR Staff of the Week. School Principal Peggy Elliott said, "Mrs. Freeman is dedicated and passionate about her job as a Kindergarten teacher."

Sweetwater High FFA Teams Advance to State Competition

According to SHS Agricultural Science Teacher Katy Harkey, Sweetwater FFA has been busy traveling this spring for FFA Judging Season, "We are pleased to announce the following teams which have competed at the Area level and will advance to State level competition:

On Friday, March 28th, the Veterinary Science Team, consisting of team members Thea Weber (6th place individual), Noah Nighswonger (11th place individual), Tyler Woofter, and Kollen Adams, placed 4th in the Area II FFA Veterinary Science Career Development Event (CDE) at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas. The Vet Science Team will go on to compete at the State FFA Veterinary Science CDE at Texas A&M University in College Station on Saturday, May 3rd. 

On Thursday, April 9th, the Land and Floriculture Teams competed at the Area II CDE at Tarleton State University in Stephenville, Texas. The Land team earned the fourth place spot and will be competing at the State Land CDE on April 24th, also at Tarleton. The Land team was comprised of members Stephen May (4th place individual), Trey Harvey (10th place individual), J.P. Poe, and Jay Lomas. The Floriculture Team placed 2nd in Area, and will be competing at the State Floriculture CDE at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville on May 2nd. Floriculture Team members include: Morgan Browning (2nd place individual), Cody Chapman (4th place individual), Ashton Hannah (8th place individual), and Ashley Parker (9th place individual).

On Saturday, April 12th, the Meats, Poultry, and Milk Quality & Products Teams competed at the Area II CDE at Texas Tech University in Lubbock. The Meats Team, consisting of team members Cody Chapman (1st place individual), Jeanne Chapman (2nd place individual), Kensi Chowning (9th place individual), and Kaitlyn Foster (18th place individual), took first place honors. The Poultry Team, made up of team members Leah Warren (1st place individual), Marc Butler (2nd place individual), and Colton Scott (10th place individual), also won first place. These two teams will advance to the State Meats and Poultry CDEs at Texas A&M University on May 3rd. The Milk Quality and Products team placed 5th as a team and will advance to the State MQP CDE at Tarleton State University on April 24th. Milk Team members include Morgan Whitley (10th place individual), Keevin Houston (15th place individual), Katie Fox, and Allison Langford. The Livestock Team (Caroline Brennan, Larissa Locklar, Alyssa Soles, Kaegan Jeffrey) and the Wool Team (Noah Nighswonger, Marc Butler, Ty Crain, Cody Chapman) also competed at this contest, but both fell just short of State advancement.

Sweetwater FFA will have two more teams competing at the State level on April 26th at Texas Tech University. These teams will be the Cotton Classifying Team (Caroline Brennan, Larissa Locklar, Stephen May, and Leah Warren) and the Agronomy Team (Jeanne Chapman, Ashton Hannah, Alyssa Soles). 

These Sweetwater FFA members have worked very hard to earn their way to State competition. If you see them, please congratulate them on a job well done and wish them luck at State!"

SHS Spanish Club Makes and Distributes Easter Baskets

The Sweetwater High School Spanish Club surprised other SHS students with Easter baskets on Friday. The club took time to fill each basket with goodies and a card to wishing a Happy Easter.  They decorated cascarones and also gave teachers a bunny with goodies to show they are appreciated for their hard work.