Choir Teams Compete at UIL Solo and Ensemble Contest

From Jenny Doggett -

On Saturday, SHS competed in the UIL Solo and Ensemble Contest, bringing 9 soloists to perform before judges. Sweetwater HS had 2 students, Erick Rico and Gisela Solano, that received a Second Division Excellent Rating. Sweetwater HS had 7 students that received a First Division Superior Rating on their performance and qualified to take their Solo to the UIL State Solo and Ensemble Contest this May in Pflugerville, TX. Congratulations to Kiara Collins, Megan Dean, Sara Henington, Dylan Jimenez, Martin Morini, Max Rodriguez, and Bryson Rule for this outstanding honor.

Sweetwater Middle School Choir also competed in the Solo and Ensemble Contest in Abilene at McMurry University. The students brought back great ratings. Congratulations to Aaron Aguilar for receiving a rating of "Great." Sara Blakeley, Heather Caballero, Cheyanna Camacho, Jacob Carter, Amber Magee, and Nevaeh Sarabia all received an "Excellent" rating. Mea Cedillo, Sergio Gonzalez, Brycen Horn, Hannah Kamer, Lily Smola, Analicia Granados, Zoe Hunt, and Claire Paty all received a "Superior" rating. Congratulations to all of these SMS Soloists!


 SHS Choir

SHS Choir

 SMS Choir

SMS Choir

SISD School Board Hears Report From Community Facilities Study Committee

The Sweetwater ISD School Board heard a report from the Community Facilities Study Committee at last nights' meeting. Mr. Rodney Foster spoke for the committee and gave the groups recommendation to the Board based on their findings and studies (See Photo).

SISD Superintendent Terry Pittman said of the group, "I witnessed this committee work and was very impressed with their thoroughness, their attention to detail, their awareness to the District needs while also considering what the community could bare as far as a tax burden. The Board will now consider this recommendation and could call for a May Bond election at the upcoming Feb 10 or Feb. 18 Board meetings."  Mr. Pittman added, "The Board has made a commitment to work as close to the committee's proposal as they can, but of course the final product would come from them after hearing from architects and construction experts."

Say Thanks To Our School Board Members!

Say thanks to our school board members!

(Sweetwater, Texas) – January 2016 is School Board Recognition Month, and Sweetwater ISD joins other districts across the state as they honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for public education.

“Serving on a local school board is no easy task, particularly in today’s climate of rapid change and financial uncertainties. These men and women are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for our public schools. They tackle a difficult job and shoulder enormous responsibilities. Overall, they represent you and take their leadership roles seriously by attending lengthy meetings; broadening their knowledge at conferences and seminars; and talking about the schools with business leaders, parents, and neighbors,” said SISD Superintendent Terry Pittman.

“Too often we neglect to recognize the dedication of these local citizens who work without pay. So each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) encourages communities to show appreciation to these individuals for their unfailing commitment to the success of all students. The staff and students of our district applaud our board members for their vision and voice to help shape a better tomorrow,” he said.

“Our children benefit every day from the hard work and long hours contributed by our trustees. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this board is responsible for setting an annual budget and overseeing our students, employees, and campuses. Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated,” he said.

A very special thank you goes to SISD Board Members Leah Andrews, Jana Hall, Neal Hoover, Becky Jimenez, Ginny Mayes, Mark Meneses, and Russ Petty.

Sweetwater High School Robotics Team Advances to State Competition

Sweetwater High School announced today that one of its four Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA) Lego Robotics Team advanced to State Competition following last weekend's regional event held at Clyde High School. "Robotics education is a valuable resource for teaching science, technology, engineering, and math skills to students," said Team Sponsor, Kathy Witt. "Students who participate develop critical thinking, collaboration, and problem solving skills linked to 21st century skills such as creativity, imagination, curiosity, and innovation." 

Students have been preparing for this week's contest for two months following the Best Robotics Competition last fall.  The school's four teams each design, collaborate, plan, construct, and program a Lego-based robot to perform specific tasks. Each team's robot is unique and developed by using strategies that involve speed, accuracy, sensing objects, and light.  The completed robot must meet competition specifications on materials and size.

The team that will represent Sweetwater at the State Competition this spring was the only all-female team competing in Clyde. "I am excited that an all-female team has support in our school and community to achieve at high levels," said Senior Ashley Parker.  "Female students can perform in science, technology, engineering, and math classes as well as male students."  Other team members advancing to the state Competition include Senior Mary Morris and Sophomores Lindsey Romero and Alyssa Ramirez.

Many parents and family members attended the competition last weekend to support and encourage students to take an active role in their own learning.  Sweetwater High School continues to expand academic electives, such as robotics, as it improves the rigor of instruction aimed at making Sweetwater High School the premier school in the Big Country.

SHS Outperforms Students From Across the State and Nation on PSAT

Sweetwater High School announced today that 11th grade students taking the Fall 2015 PSAT outperformed the state and national averages. The average SHS score was 1,068 which was 59 points above the national average of 1,009 and 116 points above the state average of 952.

The PSAT is a preliminary version of the SAT that prepares students to take the SAT and ACT. A great score on the PSAT also creates opportunities for students to participate in the National Merit Scholarships and other awards. The 2 hour and 45 minute exam is given annually to more than 3.4 million students testing students in math and evidence-based reading/writing. Each section is scored on a scale of 160 to 760 with students able to make a perfect score of 1,520.

According to SHS Principal Dr. Ron Morris, the campus is excited about the success the 11th grade students had on the exam and looks forward to submitting several applications for the National Merit Scholarship program. Sweetwater High School is continuing to expand rigorous instruction in all academic subjects while enhancing partnerships with TSTC, Western Texas College, and Angelo State University to provide college courses on campus for junior and senior level students. Sweetwater High School's vision is to become the premier high school in the Big Country.

Sweetwater High's Bryson Rule Earns Spot on TMEA All-State Choir

Bryson Rule, a Junior at Sweetwater High School, auditioned for a coveted seat in the TMEA All-State Choir. The SHS Choral department is proud to announce that he was 4th chair and will sing in the TMEA Small School All-State Choir in San Antonio in February.

Bryson began preparing for this honor this past June. He was named to the All-Region, and All-Area Choirs before making the final choir at the state level. Congratulations Bryson!